Roger McDowell
Non-executive Chairman
Appointed to the board as Non-executive Director on 22 February 2008, Roger McDowell became Chairman in March 2008.
After University Roger worked for some 20 years with Oliver Ashworth Ltd., pipeline manufacturing, where he became MD and instrumental in growing sales from £1 million to over £100 million and achieving a full listing on the London Stock Exchange. Roger has held a number of non-executive appointments in both private, Official List and AIM quoted companies predominantly in the engineering sector.
Stephen M King
ACA, BEng.
Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary
Stephen was appointed Finance Director and Company Secretary in September 2002. He is also a Director and Company Secretary for each of the UK Subsidiary companies.
Before joining from Pricewaterhouse Coopers where he was a Senior Manager in the Assurance and Specialist Transaction practice. Stephen obtained a first degree in Mechanical Engineering.
He has extensive experience in M&A having overseen the 12 acquisitions, 2 disposals to date and establishment of the Chinese WFOE’s, capital raising, reporting and restructuring.
Chief Executive Officer
A graduate engineer, Steve started his career in the oil industry, working for American Oil giant Conoco in the North Sea.

A long period at Mars Inc followed, mostly at Mars Electronics, where Steve eventually moved to France to run Western European Operations and ultimately became the general manager of the Swiss banknote recognition business, Sodeco. Later as sales director, Steve was part of the team that sold Marconi Instruments to IFR, Inc, before spending the following 6 years at Oxford Instruments as Managing Director of its Superconductivity Division.

Steve joined Avingtrans in October 2008 from Serco, where he had spent the previous four years as a Director of the National Physical Laboratory and, latterly, as the Managing Director of the Serco Defence Operations business.

Steve is currently a non-executive director on the Board of EEF and was a non-executive director of the UK Atomic Energy Authority until January 2016.
Ewan Lloyd-Baker
Chief Executive Officer
A Ewan Lloyd-Baker has been involved in the manufacturing industry for over 20 years. He started his career at Arthur Andersen, working in corporate recovery and turnaround with a number of privately owned and publicly listed companies, across a wide range of sectors. As a principal, he was part of the management team of a venture capital backed software start-up, which was ultimately sold to Reuters. He then helped set up a FTSE100 corporate incubator focused on technology businesses, before completing his Masters of Business Administration.

Since 2006, Ewan has been CEO of Hayward Tyler Group PLC, responsible for resurrecting the Hayward Tyler business and building the group through the acquisition of Peter Brotherhood from Dresser-Rand. Ewan was granted an honorary doctorate by the University of Bedfordshire in recognition of his achievements in the manufacturing industry in 2016. He has recently overseen the sale of Hayward Tyler Group plc to Avingtrans..
Graham K Thornton
PhD, MA(Oxon)
Non-executive Director
Appointed to the Board as a Non-executive Director in September 2009.
In a 25-year career spanning several sectors, including aerospace and defence, Graham has worked in senior management and Board positions for TRW Aeronautical Systems, Smiths Group plc, Dowty, Schlumberger and Standard Telephones & Cables.
He is currently Non-executive Chairman of C Zero Limited, and was Managing Director of Northrop Grumman Corporation UK Limited. Graham is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.
Austen Adams
MD Energy & Medical division
Austen Adams has accumulated 25 years experience in managing profitable engineering companies across the world and in several different market segments.
Having started his career as an engineering apprentice he has transcended all levels of management. An advocate of modern management practices he trained with Textron Inc. in the US as a global business trouble shooter before going on to hold a number of senior executive roles in sales, operational and general management.
Sound strategic thinking, hard work, determination and teamwork underpin Austen’s reputation for getting the job done.
Prior to joining Avingtrans plc Austen was group CEO at David Brown Hydraulics. Over a five year period he led a transformation of the group through an extensive overhaul of its product portfolio and the expansion of its global footprint. He opened new businesses in India, China, South Africa, and Russia, formed a joint venture in the US and acquired a company in Australia.
Austen currently leads the Energy and Medical Division of Avingtrans plc.
Les Thomas
Non-executive Director
Appointed to the Board of Directors as a Non-executive Director, effective 1 September 2014.
Mr Thomas has over 30 years' experience in the Oil and Gas industry, in various subsurface, engineering, operational and senior management positions. Les is currently CEO of Ithaca Energy Inc, appointed in 2013 and has previously served as a main Board Director of Wood Group and Chief Executive of its Production Facilities business and Group Director responsible for HSE. Prior to this, he spent 22 years with Marathon Oil, including four years as European Business Unit Leader, responsible for Marathon's upstream business in the UK, Ireland, Netherlands and Norway.